UK Standard Visitor Visa Document Checklist 2026 (6 Months)
Official UKVI requirements for the UK Standard Visitor Visa in 2026, verified against gov.uk: current fees, document guidance, and digital photo standards.
Table of Contents (2 Sections)
Document Checklist for UK Standard Visitor Visa Document Checklist 2026 (6 Months)
Check off documents as you prepare them. Save or print your personal checklist before visiting the visa application center.
1. Essential Travel & Identity Documents
Must be valid for the whole of your intended stay in the UK. Gov.uk does not state a specific number of blank pages required for a Standard Visitor visa (the vignette/sticker requirement was phased out with digital eVisas).
Uploaded as part of the online application: minimum 600x750px, JPEG, 50KB–10MB, plain light-coloured background, neutral expression, taken within the last month.
Fingerprints and a photo are taken in person at a VAC (commonly run by VFS Global or TLScontact) as part of your application. Your passport is returned to you the same day.
2. Information You Provide in the Online Application
You must state your planned travel dates and how much you expect the trip to cost.
You must declare how much you earn per year if you have an income. Supporting evidence (payslips, bank statements, tax records) may be requested depending on your circumstances, but there is no official fixed list (e.g. '6 months of statements') published by UKVI for every applicant.
Recent bank statements, payslips, or business/tax records are commonly submitted as good practice to demonstrate you can support yourself, but these are not itemised as compulsory documents on gov.uk for a standard visit.
3. Genuine Intention & Ties to Home Country
Not a fixed official document, but commonly submitted: an employer letter confirming your role and approved leave, or business registration/tax filings if self-employed.
Documents such as property ownership or family details in your home country can support your case that you intend to return, though gov.uk does not require these for every applicant.
4. Accommodation & Travel Plan
State where you will be staying (hotel booking, host address, etc.) in your online application. A day-by-day cover letter is not an official UKVI requirement, but can help present your case clearly.
Extra documents are required only if you're visiting to study, as an academic/senior doctor or dentist, for a permitted paid engagement, or for medical reasons — see the relevant gov.uk sub-pages.
10 documents remaining to prepare
UK Standard Visitor Visa Essentials 2026 (verified against gov.uk)
The UK Standard Visitor Visa permits short-term visits to England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland for up to 6 months, for tourism, visiting family/friends, certain business activities, short courses, and other permitted activities defined by UKVI.
┌────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┐
│ UKVI 2026 AT A GLANCE │
├──────────────────────┬───────────────────────────────────────────────── ┤
│ Processing Standard │ Usually within 3 weeks (after biometrics) │
│ Application Fee │ £135 GBP (6-month single visa) │
│ Long-Term Options │ £506 (2yr) / £903 (5yr) / £1,128 (10yr) │
│ Apply Window │ Up to 3 months before travel │
│ Photo Specification │ Digital: 600x750px min, plain light background │
│ Biometrics Center │ VFS Global / TLScontact (varies by country) │
│ Financial Test │ Show you can support yourself; no fixed figure │
└──────────────────────┴───────────────────────────────────────────────── ┘
What changed from the earlier version of this page
- Fee increased: the 6-month fee rose from £127 to £135, and long-term visas rose to £506 / £903 / £1,128, as part of the Home Office's fee update effective 8 April 2026. The previous £115 figure is outdated.
- No official fixed financial-document checklist: gov.uk does not publish a required list such as "6 months of bank statements" or "2–3 years of tax returns" for standard visitors — it asks for income and trip-cost information in the online form and may request supporting evidence based on individual circumstances. Items like this are now labelled as common practice, not mandatory UKVI documents.
- Photo background corrected: gov.uk explicitly allows white, cream, or light grey backgrounds — there is no rule against pure white, so that earlier claim has been removed.
- No published minimum bank balance: figures like "£100–£150 per day" are third-party guidance, not something UKVI states officially — this has been reframed in the FAQ.
- Passport blank-page requirement removed: this was tied to older sticker/vignette visas; current visas are typically issued as eVisas, and gov.uk does not state a blank-page requirement for Standard Visitor applications.
Need compliant UK digital photos? Use our UK Passport & Visa Photo Tool for correct sizing (600x750px digital / 35x45mm printed) and a compliant light-coloured background.
Primary sources used: gov.uk/standard-visitor, gov.uk/standard-visitor/apply-standard-visitor-visa, gov.uk/photos-for-passports, and the Home Office fees table effective 8 April 2026. Priority/Super Priority fee figures (£500 / £1,000) are consistent across current secondary sources but should be reconfirmed at gov.uk/faster-decision-visa-settlement before relying on them, as this page could not be fetched directly during this update.
Check Your United Kingdom Documents with AI
Find missing clauses, unexplained bank deposits, and non-compliant photos before attending your embassy or VFS appointment.
Create United Kingdom Visa Photo ()
Automatic background cleaning, biometric alignment, and exact cropping compliant with UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI / Home Office) rules.
Create & Verify My Photo Now →